Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    JFox
    Participant

Hello all, I’m really enjoying the portrait generator, though I couldn’t help but notice that all the characters are facing the camera head-on. I’m curious as to the reasons behind this; like was it a conscious decision?
      Aesthetically speaking, IMHO a slight angle for the entire body (or at least the face) looks nicer.(Especially if the character isn’t staring me in the eye all the time :D)
      On the other hand, sometimes the straight-on look works really well, and it probably offers more options for different types of usage.

Can anybody shed some light on this?

Disclaimer: I’m not trying to criticize or anything, it just piqued my interest. I’m no artist, and understand that trying to make something this massive with interchangeable pieces that actually fit together is tough.

LBandy
      Keymaster

Hi there,

Sorry for the late reply.

We found that this body pose can be used the most universally along other choices. Since we try to give as mush freedom as possible to our users we’ve opted to go with this one.

I hope this helps, feel free to post other questions or suggestions here though. 🙂

JFox
        Participant

Yep! I had intended to follow up my question with a suggestion, but forgot to, so here goes.

I had given a little bit of thought as to how an adjustable pose would be possible, but I don’t know how well it would work in practicality. Maybe some clothes could replace the torso entirely? For example; with a shirt that didn’t cover the entire chest, the shirt could have a skin texture covering the base body.
          If it were possible to lay down a field of transparency that makes all the layers below it transparent as well, that would solve the upper layers not completely covering the lower layers.
          Alternatively (or in addition), the head could be replaceable.